Meal Planning – Week 2

Some Boy reviews from last week – since I’m thinking it might be helpful to have a boy opinion on these things:

“This is the best soup you have ever made” that was the ringing endorsement from the Boy as were enjoying Loaded Potato Soup from last week for the 3rd time.  The Boy does leftovers, but that he’s been willing to do this soup leftover time after time after time = note worthy. So if you haven’t made the Loaded Potato Soup from last week – I highly recommend it.

This week I made the controversial Warm Quinoa Salad from week 1 last Sunday night – it was super yummy and the Boy after his unwillingness to make it started this conversation:
Boy – Oh yeah, this one’s not bad.  I like the corn
Me – I know.  That’s what you said the last time.
Boy – How can you expect me to remember these things
Me – I don’t.  I remember for you.
Boy – Oh. I didn’t believe you.
Me – I know. I told you that too.

Onwards and upwards.

I didn’t actually get to Week 2’s meal list until Tuesday last week, since the leftovers (made and in grocery state) lasted us into the beginning of the week.  Sweet – making those groceries go further is always a good thing. When we ended up eating out Wednesday (date with mom) Thursday (multiple appointments for everyone + puppy school = sushi night) and Friday (date in Alliston with the fam), Saturday the Boy was reunited with friends and hockey and I was left on my own – week 2 quickly turned into week 3. I’m still trying to balance having enough ideas in mind and the fact that we’re on,y 2 people so maybe 6 recipes in mind is too many. Learning.

ANYWAY, Tuesday I made Raw Zucchini Pasta with Thai Peanut Sauce – I was really hesitant of the Boy’s review on this one.  I’ve had something similar so I wasn’t too worried about it and pretty intrigued (obvioulsy that’s why it made it on the list) but telling the Boy to think of raw Zucchini as pasta… I wasn’t sure how that would go.  I pre-made the sauce when I was home at lunch (the perks of working close to home) and after an evening skate we came home to a quick and easy dinner.  I added finely grated carrots and beets to the mix. Yum-o.

Raw Zucchini Pasta with Thai Sauce

I don’t know why the Boy was skeptical – Beets make it Pretty in Pink!

The Boy was as predicted very sketched out by the presentation – but he did admit that it was really tasty, not only that but that we could have it again. I’ll take that as “singing it’s praises”.

This week we had hamburgers, (technically not on the list, but we didn’t have chicken so – it all works out in the end) and the soup from Oh She Glows was a big hit with me, and the ably liked that he could put tortilla chips in it (since he’s not a big fan of beans – this too is practically singing it’s praises). Wednesday I made the Portabello and Red Pepper Mac and cheese but instead of the Yum Universe cheese sauce (which Sista found a bit bland) I turned to Oh She Glows again for her Vegan Alfredo sauce which is super yummy. Last night the sauce from the Raw Zucchini Pasta made another dinner for both of us plus a lunch. Love it when a little goes a long way!

I haven’t made the falafels yet, but given that they’re made with 2 cans of chickpeas – I’m thinking these will go pretty far and we’ll have some quick and dirty freezer falafels going forward. Score.

The Recipes:

Week 2:

Snacks – Morning Glory Muffins – Spilling the Beans.  In an effort to eat less wheat I made these with Gluten Free All Purpose Flour – straight up. They were still good, but they stuck to the paper like crazy and didn’t really rise.

We still had Peanut Butter Bars and Cheesy Hummus in the fridge, so I froze the muffins to make them last longer. Grab one in the morning and you’re good to go by first recess!

Lunches – Quinoa and Lentils Mandarin Salad – Quinoa 365

Big Salad with Falafels – Plant Powered Kitchen
Raw Zucchini Pasta with Thai Peanut Sauce – The Healthy Ginger
Black bean, Red Quinoa and Sweet Potato Soup – Oh She Glows
Portabello and Red Pepper Mac and Cheeze – Yum Universe + Oh She Glows Cheeze Sauce
Whole Chicken, Protein Mashed Potatoes and Veggies

One response

  1. I made the Warm Quinoa Salad tonight and it was a hit. And I keep telling Pete that we should try the Loaded Potato soup but he is resisting it because he hates cauliflower. Argh. I should have just tried to sneak it in without mentioning the cauliflower. Boys.

Leave a Reply

