Why you need a workout buddy

The other day I skipped the gym.  The dog had been up all night coughing, there was a brief near run-in with a fox in the backyard and when the alarm went off at 6am I was just not feeling it.  As a complete aside I decided later that I really should have just sucked it up and gone – how much more sleep did I get really? 15 minutes?! Big whoop.
 
Anyway, I sent my gym buddy a text message to say I wasn’t meeting her and I would see her at the office at 8.
 
I got to work and she was there ready to give me hell for not joining her. Turns out she wasn’t upset because I had given in to the sleepies and skipped out, but because being there alone had given other gym regulars the invitation to speak to her in the morning.
 
Gym Buddy – “Meaghan, you’re buddy Andrew says Hi”
Me – “Who is Andrew? The bald guy?” (He’s a regular that’s been saying good morning the last few weeks)
GB – “Yes, do you know what he said to me? ‘Where’s your daughter today?'”
I burst out laughing.  Good thing we’re there early – uprorious laughter is frowned upon in cubicle land.
GB – “I said to him, ‘My daughter? I am too young to have a 30 year old daughter!’  he answered, ‘SHE’S 30?!  I thought you would have been pretty young, but she does NOT look 30!!”
Me and everyone within earshot – More laughter.
 
Then my gym buddy gave me the sweetest complement “I didn’t kill him for two reasons 1. You do look so young. 2. You’re beautiful.  3. If I had a 30 year old, at least you’re one I would be proud of. He’s very lucky – don’t leave me there by myself again”
Noted.
 
I have since been informed that someone recently asked my boss if her student would be hired once she finishes school – she’s been here a long time.  My boss couldn’t figure out who they were talking about since we don’t have a student right now.  They clarified “the redhead!”  She informed them that I have 2 degrees, and has been finished school for quite some time and was full-time permanent.
 
I have a theory.  It’s all in the cheeks.
 
Round Cheeks = Eternal Youth
Leave a Reply

