More Today

The Boy and I were at a lovely wedding this summer. Our friends were married by the same priest that married us, in the same church. The Boy was the Best Man, and Fr. Joe took more than a few jabs at him in throughout the ceremony.

Our friend the priest did have something to say that day that has really stuck with me over the last few months (and it wasn’t about how the groom should really reconsider his friends).  He told the happy, crying, over-the-moon in love couple that he hoped their wedding day was the least happy day of their marriage.  He said in your marriage you should love each more today than yesterday, and a little bit more tomorrow.

 

I can’t say that I love the Boy more today than yesterday, or more than a week ago, or last month. But I do love him more than our wedding day. We are stronger today than we were then. We’ve been through some truly craptastic days in the last 3 years, and while I would happily trade many of them in, there is no one else I would have rather spent those days with.

 

We are a team. Happy as a team. Sad as a team. Successful as a team. Frustrated as a team. Elated as a team. Scared as a team. Some days he has to be the team captain, and some days it’s me. Through it all what keeps me the most steady and focused and optimistic as we face our toughest opponents is the knowledge that we’re in it together, and reading from the same page of the playbook.

 

Look at me with the sports analogy.  He must be rubbing off on me.

 

Happy Anniversary Buddy.

West Photo-1970

I thought I loved you then.
2 responses

  1. Happy Anniversary (again!). Also, where did you find such a wise, fun, lovely priest? Are you sure he’s really Catholic? Kidding (mostly)!
    You’ve certainly been through a lot together. You’re a great match. 🙂
    Love to you both 🙂

Leave a Reply

